top of page

JCCI Forward Follows Me…And That’s OK

Lee J. Poechmann, Forward Immediate Past Chair

Last year, I was JCCI Forward’s Chair, which means this year I have the best position of all: Immediate Past Chair. And although I may be a little more scarce at Forward events than planned, I am astounded at how present JCCI Forward remains in my personal and professional interactions around Jacksonville.

For instance, I receive bi-weekly updates on the City of Jacksonville’s ethics efforts with its elected officials only because I was so active through a very important Issue Forum JCCI Forward hosted several years ago. It was my first time attending a City Council meeting, and advocating on behalf a group. Seeing progress is rewarding.

When I notice a Chevrolet Volt on the road, which is still rare, I register a smug little grin because I was able to test drive one as part of an Urban Safari on sustainable initiatives JCCI Forward hosted. Urban Safaris are usually a string of themed events from a couple hours to a half-day that show young leadership interesting or innovative happenings around town under our very noses.

Even last Sunday, during the Super Bowl, I had a discussion about the economics of local farm-to-table efforts, and everything I recounted was learned during JCCI Forward’s Slow Food Issue Forum two years ago.

Perhaps most impactful for me are the wonderful people I have met through JCCI Forward. Mere months after my stint as Chair had wrapped up, I was knee-deep in planning a large event for AIA Jacksonville. In the heat of promotional efforts, I was looking to wallpaper the city with event posters to help sell tickets. Approaching one of our key point people, Melody Bishop, at her office, I asked where I could reach a few select people on my list. Immediately, she said “That group is meeting right now at JCCI for JAX 2025. If you get over there in the next 20 minutes, you’ll catch everyone you need.” I did, and I did.

For me, JCCI Forward is hard to escape, and I don’t mind it.


bottom of page